Discussion Topics

  1. After selecting a discussion topic, members will see the discussion between group members. Right under the groups tool bar to the right, members will see the number of replies and voices in the discussion topic. User will also see when the last reply happened.
  2. At the top of the discussion board to the right, users have the option to favorite or subscribe to a discussion topic, if a topic is favorited or subscribed, a user can select to unfavorite or unsubscribe from the same place on the topic page.
    1. Favoriting a discussion topic will add it to the favorited tab under discussions on a user’s activity wall.
    2. Subscribing will similarly add the topic to the subscribed tab under discussions on a user’s hub.
  3.  The first comment that started the discussion topic has a toolbar for the discussion topic itself, depending on a user’s membership status to the group or if the user was the original author of the message, they will see some or all of these options. From left to right:
    1. Edit – a user can edit the original message for the topic.
    2. Close – a user who created the topic, or an administrator will make it so the discussion topic can no longer be commented on.
    3. Stick – a user will stick that discussion topic to the top of the discussion board list on the previous page.
    4. Merge – a user can merge this discussion topic with another discussion topic on the discussion board.
    5. Trash – a user can delete the whole topic and it will no longer display on the discussion board.
    6. Spam – a user will make it so a “spam” discussion topic is not visible from the discussion board on the previous page, only group administrators will see the topic once spammed.
    7. Reply – a user will be moved down the page to a text editor box, to add their reply to the discussion topic.
  4.  For each message there are the message settings to the right of the message. Depending on user’s status on the message they will see one or all of these options.
    1. Edit – a user will be able to edit the message right under it.
    2. Move – a user will be able to move the message to another discussion topic or create a new topic with the message on the discussion board.
    3. Split – a user will be able move this message to another discussion topic or create a new topic with the message on the discussion board. The difference between this and move, is that by splitting the user will also have the option to bring all topic subscribers, topic favoriters, and topic tags to the new discussion topic.
    4. Trash – a user will be able to delete the message from the discussion topic thread.
    5. Spam – a user will be able to make it so a message is not visible from the discussion board on the previous page, only group administrators will see the topic once spammed.
    6. Reply – a user will be moved down the page to a text editor box, to add their reply to the discussion topic.
Screenshot of a discussion topic page.

Discussion Thread